You are here: Home Who are the Mursi? Clans (kabicho)

Clans (kabicho)

A clan (kabi) is a category of people who are presumed to be descended in the male line from different co-wives of the same man. There are around 18 in total but they vary greatly in size. The four largest are probably Komorte, Bumai, Juhai and Garakuli. There is a distinct concentration of members of certain clans in certain areas, but members of the same clan may be found scattered throughout the length and breadth of Mursiland. Although it is not possible for all members of the same clan to show how they are related, there is a strong taboo against marrying a fellow clan member. In the case of certain clans - Komorte and Juhai for example – even inter-clan marriage is prohibited.

Mursi clans

  • Berneshe
  • Bongosi
  • Bumai
  • Changuli
  • Chermani
  • Galnai
  • Garakuli
  • Gongwi
  • Gumnai
  • Gushumi
  • Isai
  • Juhai
  • Kagisi
  • Komorte
  • Kulgisai
  • Maiyaiyai
  • Mangwi
  • Ngeriai
Document Actions